All text is available under the GNU Free Document License. For details see © Copyright and disclaimer.
Valid HTML 4.0

See also the chronological index.


  1. Francis Almeida: the first Portuguese to enter Bombay harbour.
  2. Gerald Aungier: the creator of the British town.
  3. Claude Batley: architect of the Bombay Central station.
  4. John Begg: developed the Indo-Saracenic style in architecture.
  5. Homi J. Bhabha: scientist.
  6. Raja Bhimdev: the earliest known ruler of Bombay.
  7. Madame R. K. Cama: freedom fighter.
  8. Arthur Crawford: the first municipal commissioner.
  9. John Lord Elphinstone: the Governor who demolished the fort walls.
  10. Montstuart Elphinstone: a diplomat and a spy, Governor and a scholar.
  11. Sir Bartle Frere: Governor and architect of the renewal of Bombay.
  12. Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi
  13. Dr. W. M. Haffkine: discoverer of the plague vaccine.
  14. William Hornby: initiated reclamation of central Bombay.
  15. Sir Jamsetjee Jeejeebhoy: businessman and philanthropist.
  16. Sir Cowasji Jehangir: businessman and conservative Parsi.
  17. Rama Kamath: Philanthropist and businessman, perhaps a spy?
  18. Maharishi D. K. Karve: reformer.
  19. Rudyard Kipling: writer.
  20. Sir George Lloyd: Governor implicated in a scam.
  21. James McKintosh: chief justice and founder of the Asiatic Society.
  22. Sir Pherozeshah Mehta: lawyer, congressman and politician.
  23. Dadabhai Naoroji: the "Grand Old Man of India".
  24. K. F. Nariman: lawyer and politician.
  25. Mahadev Govind Ranade: judge and reformer.
  26. Sir Cowasji Jehangir Readymoney: businessman.
  27. Premchand Roychand: the "cotton king".
  28. Sir David Sassoon: trader and philanthropist.
  29. Sir Gilbert Scott: architect.
  30. Jagannath Shankar Shett: businessman and entrepreneur.
  31. Frederick William Stevens: the architect of the Victoria Terminus.
  32. Jamsetji Nusserwanji Tata: businessman and entrepreneur.
  33. Mary Evans Wadia (Fearless Nadia): film star of the '40s.
  34. George Wittet: architect of the Gateway of India.